3650: Month 1 Update

I can’t believe it’s been a whole month (give or take) that I have been reading on this program. Usually by now, I would have abandoned the whole thing and stuck with whatever I was studying in CBS, or whatever Bible study I was involved in.

I can’t believe that such a “rigorous” program attracted my attention. TEN chapters a day? Surely,  you jest!

It must have been the bookmarks…yeah, that’s what caught my attention!

I decided immediately that I was not going to read on Sundays. That was a good choice for me. It lifted all that “you didn’t READ today?” guilt that I shouldn’t have anyhow. No one should have guilt over how much time they do or do not spend in God’s Word. Some people spend it daily, and others do marathons. The point is….THEY ARE IN THE WORD! More power (of the Holy Spirit) to you.

I started with Dr Horner’s original plan. One of the participants on the Facebook group posted their “version” and I liked it a little better, so I decided to tweak mine. Then, a friend who is also reading through told me about her few tweaks. So, again, I tweaked 😉 Some days I only read the one chapter of each book, other days I may finish a book, or read more than one. I have missed a day here and there, also. Again, I have NOT felt that burden of “guilt” like I have in past attempts to do a Bible reading program. It’s amazingly freeing!

As of today, this is what I have read:

Genesis 1-23

Joshua 1-24

Job 1-23

Psalm 1-23

Proverbs 1-23

Hosea 1-14

Joel 1-3

Isaiah 1-7 (coming  back to that one)

Matthew 1-23

Acts 1-26

Romans 1-16

1 Corinthians 1-14

1 Thessalonians 1-5

2 Thessalonians 1-3

1 Timothy 1-6

2 Timothy 1-4

Titus 1-3

Philemon

James 1-2

Unless I counted wrong (QUITE possible), that’s 220 chapters…or, better still, over 220 HOURS in His Word in January. Not too shabby.

 

Blessings!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One thought on “3650: Month 1 Update

  1. Pingback: 3650 Challenge: Month 2 « D.H. Barbara

Leave a Reply

