March 1: Being a Lion, Becoming A Lamb

Oh my goodness, racing season is NOT a good time for this! Or, it is the perfect time 😉 My inner lion REALLY roars while watching the race.

In reading through the few posts from 2006, I can see I am still right there. Too many excuses, even though I do want to be more Christ like in my ways, it takes TIME, ENERGY and TIME. And energy.

I started the 3650 Challenge in January. That also takes time. It’s always, ALWAYS good time. Can time in The Word be anything less? But, if I start off the day online, sucked into whatever, be it Facebook, HK, the writing board…whatever…that takes time from HIM. Who/what is more/most important? So, herein lies my first “goal.” It seems so simple, doesn’t it? Yet, how many of us start off the day with coffee, a shower, breakfast, etc. before we kneel and say, “Lord, here I am. Thank you for this day in which I can serve You. Guide my heart.”

~ Jeopardy music as you either contemplate that or click off my page~

Goal 1: Make my FIRST moments of the day moments with Him.

I decided when I started the 3650 that Wednesdays and Sundays would be my off days. Wednesday I have Bible study and Sunday is Sunday. But, to be more Lamb-like, I need to start every day with Him. It doesn’t have to be hours and hours. It needs to be quality, where nothing else is seeping into my brain (like plot lines for new or existing books). I need to focus immediately on Him. It’s like when I put my glasses on first thing. Everything becomes clear.

 

Prayer to start off the Challenge:

Lord, I confess to you my inner lion is in control. My desire is to be more like You. Even though You are The Lion of Judah, I want to be the Lamb. I want to be calm, peaceful and not carry on. I want to respond, not react, when challenges come my way. I want to die to self. Help me to be able to let go, and let YOU. I lay the first goal before You; give me the time first thing to be in Your way and Your will before my feet hit the floor (or shortly thereafter). Thank You for all You have done for me. In Your name I pray, Amen

 

Some verses to meditate on (ESV):

Matt 11:30

“For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

1 Peter 5:7

Casting all your anxieties on Him, because He cares for you.

Psalm 55:22

Cast your burden upon the LORD and He will sustain you;
He will never permit the righteous to be moved.

Phil 2:14-15

Do all things without grumbling or disputing, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world,

If you haven’t, start reading Psalm 51. I have it printed out and in my school binder. I should will make a few more copies and keep them with me.

 

Blessings!

2 thoughts on “March 1: Being a Lion, Becoming A Lamb

  1. You sound like you are in my house and mind (except it isn’t racing or book writing that distract me, just a million other things, including the www.) Joining you in this prayer and goal!

Leave a Reply

