Post-Sunnie Update Time

Here I sit awaiting the email from Create space that my 50 books have shipped.

So, what does an author do while she’s in ‘production down time’? (besides fretting over what book is coming next, revising 298 plot lines and devising a vegetarian diet for her family of 4)

Reading. Yes, my goodness, I’ve forgotten how wonderful it is to actually read something without looking for typos, punctuation errors (which I’m not good at, anyhow) or formatting. I haven’t even thought of snitching a phrase, because I just want to absorb!

I’m back on track with my 3650 reading plan. I bobbled pretty bad in March, and struggled to get back into it this month. It’s a good plan and even with my space out, I’ve still read more of the Great Book this year than I have in several years. I’m into my second reading of Lists 3,4, 7 and 10. (my revised lists are here) I’m 1/3 of the way through Psalms, up to 1 Samuel, just finished entering the Promised Land and reading Christ’s Passion, and Isaiah is…well, hard. 😉

My most recent reads are posted on Goodreads, but I will list them here for those of you not there.

Spotlight: A Close-Up Look at the Artistry and Meaning of Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight Saga

I really enjoyed John’s walk through the Harry Potter series. This one is taking a bit of time to read through. He writes quite heady, and I’m losing track of what he’s saying. But, I am determined to finish it, just because. I’m sure I won’t be totally in his corner as I was with Potter, but that’s okay.

Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God

My new favorite spiritual author. He had a 3 book Kindle freebie last week and I grabbed this and the other 2. I’ve been wanting to read this for some time and I’m delighted to say that my Kindle App highlights quite efficiently. I may add it to my iPhone so I can cart this book around with me.

What Left Behind Left Out

Yes, I am ashamed  to say I am still plodding through this…Lori, I PROMISE I will get through it!!! 😉

California Gold

It’s been YEARS since I picke dup a John Jakes novel. Spurred on by a conversation with Chautona about a series she’s just starting to write, I grabbed this. Typical jakes style, sweeping you through California in the 1880’s with Macklin Chance.

How to Bake a Perfect Life

Spur of the moment library grab and I am so glad I did. I devoured it in a day, cried my eyes out and promptly requested more of her books. A few good recipes in it too boot.
Second in the series, the backstory of her Mortal Instruments series. London in the 1800’s, and some familiar characters arise. Steampunk at it’s best.

City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments #4)

Disturbing installment of the series in which all proverbial hell breaks loose (literally) Looking forward to the 5th, due in May.
A classic reread. One of my favorite of the series about Pern.
ETA: I should have blogged sooner, I got an email an hour after this posted that the books shipped! WHOO HOOOOO!
Leave a Reply

