Favorite Authors A.K.A. The Chautona Show, Part 3

I planned on writing a post about my friend, Chautona Havig, for July since 1) she is one of the way coolest people I know and 2) her birthday is in July.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I know a blog post dedicated to you is exactly what you were hoping for! 

Chautona is first and foremost, a wonderful, Godly woman who has been an online friend to me nigh on 10 years. (can you believe that???) She ‘owns’ a wonderful spot on the WWW where Christian women hang around and encourage, support and dole out the hard Biblical advice we sometimes all need to hear. It’s my home away from home, so to speak. No, we are not all perfect *cough, cough, sputter* but that’s what makes life exciting, eh wot?

(Yes, I will refrain from any more Brit slang. You are welcome.)

In any case, I had taken a year long sabbatical from the Happy Spot, and low and behold, when I returned, Chautona had a few books published! After gobbling them up, I decided I had to have every bound edition of her books as I possibly could own. Her stories are touching, the characters are real and ones that you can easily envision knowing (or maybe relate to on a personal level) and they get through their myriad of dilemmas by faith. Never preachy, the books are uplifting and heartening.

From her website:

Books.  I love them– always have.  From my earliest years, I spent most of my free time lost in a book, until one day I realized that I had stories in my mind that I wanted to tell.  Time passed, life, family, and work got in the way, and my dream of being a writer seemed to vanish into the desert winds.

Dreams are beautiful things, though; they never quite disappear.  I began writing again, editing, writing, editing, and now I have over a hundred books in progress– some of them finished.  I write the stories of fictional people who have real problems, weaknesses, and triumphs.  Through their stories, I try to share the Hope that is within me.

You can peek at her Bookshelf to see her titles in print. I’ve read them all, including the children’s books. Those are great family read alouds or perfect for a kid who can’t get enough to read. Just like the adult books, the children’s stories are filled with characters of valor. The line of  ‘Not-So’ Fairy Tales are sprinkled with wry humour for the adults.

Recently, Chautona has been having free Kindle promotions of her books (which means, FREE BOOKS!!! HOORAH!!!!  Her latest, Past Forward, is free today, so hurry and grab it! The wonderful story of Willow Finley, which she has been delighting a small contingent of the Happy Place (referred to as Woupies) for some time now, is finally making it was into print via weekly installments! Each new segment will be available on Thursdays (FREE for a limited time!)

From Amazon.com:

Alone without friends or family to comfort her after the death of her mother, Willow Finley’s idyllic life is over—and just beginning.
When Willow Finley awakes on a hot summer morning, she is unprepared for the grief that awaits her. Jerked from a life of isolation with her mother, Willow learns what alone really means when she finds her mother still in her bed, never to awaken again in this life.
From the moment Willow arrives in the police station with her startling announcement, Chad Tesdall fights the friendship he knows he can’t avoid. 
Follow as Willow’s story unfolds past forward.

Lastly, I am happy to count Chautona as a friend. My own dreams of writing have been accomplished in large part due to her encouragement and support and being willing to let me fly a little with the Woupies. I highly recommend you get to know her through her writing and the following:

Chautona Havig: Just The Write Escape Facebook page

Chautona Havig official website

2 thoughts on “Favorite Authors A.K.A. The Chautona Show, Part 3

Leave a Reply

